top of page

Stains, Stinks, & Oils


For my daughter, Elyse's big Christmas gift, my parents purchased a super nice gel memory foam mattress. Potty training days are upon us so I'm always making sure there are protective covers layering the mattress & because...well - kids.


I went to lay her down last night & she immediately threw up all over her bed. I was thanking Jesus for those layers underneath her. Rinse, wash, & good to go, right?


Wrong.


I gambled, which is never a good idea. I had thrown all of the covers in the wash which left me with the mattress & a new sheet with no protective cover. I did place a thick blanket underneath the fitted sheet but somehow overnight, she had torn it all off. I woke up to check on her early the next morning & immediately felt awful for two reasons.


One: How long had she been laying in her vomit?!

Two: Immediate regret that I didn't layer more.


I couldn't marinate in those feelings so I decided to just deal with things right away.


So sleeves up. I threw my girl in a lavender & peppermint bath. I could tell this made her feel so much better. While she soaked I dug up my essential oil booklets & started figuring out what concoction I could throw together to:


A: Get that God awful stench out of her room & mattress.

B: Get that disgusting stain off her brand new white mattress.

C: Disinfect everything.


I have never been happier.. Who knew just a few ingredients could DO WORK.


So here's my concoction to remove all traces of vomit.


What you'll need:

  • Glass Spray Bottle (I purchased mine from Grove Collaborative.)

  • 2 Cups of Water (Tap is fine)

  • 8 Drops of Young Living's Thieves Oil

  • 8 Drops of Lemon Oil

  • 8 Drops of Young Living's Purification

  • 3 Drops of Peppermint (Just to be sure the stink leaves)

  • 1/4 Cup of White Vinegar

  • Baking Soda

  • A good scrubber (I am in love with Grove Collaborative dish scrubber for scrubbing carpet & now beds)

The really cool thing about the essential oils I used is these oils come in the starter kit purchased from Young Living.


Before anything I peppered the area with baking soda to soak up any liquid. I let that sit for about a half hour. I went back with my vacuum to removed anything "loose." The area was dry at this point.




I doused the area with my mixture of water, vinegar, & oils. I let that sit for 5 minutes & started scrubbing with a normal rag - forget that. Use a brush. I grabbed my brush & dish set Grove sent me & started scrubbing. I sprinkled baking soda on my brush & scrubbed some more. I spent 5 minutes or so scrubbing & there are now NO signs of stains or stinks & the best part - I did it without harsh chemicals.


I have a sleepy girl who's anxious to get back to sleeping this "crud" off.



What are some other good oil recipes you use to clean? I'm new to oils & would love to hear the best ones that have worked for you.



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page