top of page

Shirley General & Grilled Sandwiches

"When I set out to do something, I finish it as soon as I can because we never know if tomorrow is going to come."

(My son, Trey with our Grandma Shirley - 2017)


This was something my Grandma Shirley said to me this past weekend as she dropped off winter dinnerware. She was justifying why she drove to four neighboring towns to collect a full set. Each town has a Dollar General.


I can't tell you how much I love & appreciate her. I also can't tell you how much it meant that she saw these & thought of me. And I've got to tell you - For a Dollar General find...these are really nice.


In her hand, she held a sticky note full of her handwriting. As I looked closer I realized she had each town written down & what dish she found where. The organization & madness of it all.


I say madness because if there is an excuse to go to a Dollar General - My Grandma has it. She has respectfully gained the name "Shirley General" & quite frankly, I think she wears it well. She's a retired widow. If she wants to spend her minutes & coins there - I say have at it!


When I first moved out of my parent's house close to 10 years ago, my Grandma came to my new apartment with boxes in tow. Upon opening them, I found that she was gifting me the Corelle dish set I had grown up using at her house. I believe the name of the design is "Spring Blossom." It's an olive green floral pattern. When memories are attached to something - the look doesn't really matter. These dishes were used well before my time & have lived until now. I don't think I'll ever retire them. And besides, olive green is back *in.*


The first meal I ate on that Corelle was a grilled cheese sandwich. I thought it was fitting since that was the most requested meal at Grandma's house. She normally paired it with her homemade apple sauce & some cottage cheese.


Today, I decided I'd put the new dishes to good use & make a grilled venison sloppy joe. Was it my imagination or did it just taste better on Grandma's plates? Who knows!


One thing I do know is she is right! No matter the age, nothing should be put off whether it be big or small...We just don't know what tomorrow brings or if it brings anything at all.


With love,

Lindsey




148 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page