top of page

Easy DIY Paint Sample Calandar



I have found that I function best when I have a calendar at hand. I'm a visual person & one of the busiest people I know so keeping track of what's going on from day to day is really helpful for me. Especially since the days fly right past me so quickly & half the time I don't remember what happened yesterday. Sometimes it's nice to go back & see what was accomplished throughout the month. I currently use a Create 365 Planner. I found mine at Michael's for 50% off which was a great deal considering the large ones go for $40+!

In addition to having a planner, I also built a wall calendar a few years back. I had a blank space on a wall where I spent my time planning my month. I figured having a large visual was nice when I didn't feel like shuffling through my bags for my planner.


I recently made one for a girl friend of mine. Over the summer, I always look for large picture frames at garage/yard sales. Home Interiors used to put different paintings in really nice quality frames & those are always the ones I shoot for.


I happened to snag this one up for just $4 at a garage sale across town. I took it home & cleaned it up using a damp cloth to remove any dust.

Once I cleaned up the frame I turned it over to find a paper back. I went ahead & tore that off.

Side note: I was really happy to see that the hanging system of choice was with a wire. In my opinion, this is the best way to hang a heavier/larger frame because it's easy to adjust. It also has great support for the sides of the frame whereas the arrow/sawtooth only support the top. If the frame isn't sturdy, you run the risk of losing it. This has happened to me before.


I had some leftover white latex paint that I've been wanting to use up. I decided to create my own chalk paint using that. You can see how to make your own chalk paint here.

The recipe I used for this project:

  • 1/2 Cup of Latex Paint

  • 1/4 Cup of Plaster of Paris

  • 1/4 Cup of Water

I mix the Plaster of Paris with water thoroughly with a small whisk before adding the latex paint.

  • Please note: Plaster of Paris will not make colored paint lighter. I put it to the test with a dark royal blue. It came out perfect.

  • Also Note: You should work quickly & efficiently. Plaster of Paris starts to harden after 20 minutes. Whisking your paint mixture often will buy you time though.

  • One last note: Do not toss any leftovers down the drain. Again, this will harden & you will have plumbing problems. Pour in a disposable cup or baggy whether it be Ziploc or doubling up on grocery bags. Leave this sitting overnight & the mixture should be in a solid state. You can then toss it in the trash.

If you're looking to make a larger batch, the largest I would suggest is:

  • 1 cup of Latex Paint

  • 1/3 cup of Water

  • 1/3 cup of Plaster of Paris

I don't recommend making anything larger just because the Plaster of Paris dries quickly. If you need more, you can always make another batch once you've used up the first.


Normally I would pop the glass out of the frame but in this case - the glass didn't want to come out & I didn't want to run the risk of breaking the glass by forcing it out. The great thing about chalk paint is that it's easy to remove from glass - just by scratching it off with your nail.


I did use painters tape just in case though!


My plan before realizing the glass didn't want to come out was to spray paint the frame white using Rustoleum's "Chalked" chalk spray paint. I figured the first coat would go on quicker that way. The first coat of chalk paint always takes the longest to dry because it's usually bonding to a treated surface & in this case - stained & poly'd wood. Regardless, I still prefer using chalk paint because it's easy. The wood doesn't have to be prepped or sanded & that's a huge time saver.


I still decided to try to spray paint it though & it worked out fine. I let that dry & came back through with the chalk paint I made.

I ended up putting on 3 coats total. Once they dried, I went over with a clear coat. Several brands do the job flawlessly depending on what type of finish you're looking for.


Here are some that I have worked with:


I've also used American Paint Company & love that one as well. For this project, though, I chose Minwax Water Based Polycrylic in Clear Matte. I didn't want the frame to be shiny but rather keep it's chalky look while still having a good protective coating.


Once that dried, I came back through with my sanding block to "rough up" the edges for that rustic look.



When sanding down for the rustic look, think about where normal wear & tear occurs; edges & protruding details. In this case, I focused on the corner edges. Once finished, I went over with a wax just to seal it off. You can use clear, white, or dark. They also have a paste but I am not a huge fan. The one I have & don't exactly love is Minwax's wax paste. I prefer Miss Mustard Seed/Homestead Home's white & dark wax. These are allegedly the same product with different labels so if you have access to one - grab it! Ordering online or looking up the nearest shop to you is your best bet. My local shop quit carrying this unfortunately. I was able to buy out a gal online when her boutique was closed so I have a couple left. I'll be scrambling when they run out.

  • Please note: Wax is always last. The reason why you shouldn't put anything over the wax - like a clear coat...is because wax prohibits anything to really bond to it. Put your clear coat on first then wax.

Now, for paint samples. I always make a plan first. What color scheme are you going with? In my case, I was going with the white frame with shades of blue/turquoise. And while paint samples are free, it always seems awkward to walk in for a stack of 50 samples & walk out without paying for anything. I have done it though & no one pays attention. It's just a feeling I get so I normally grab something to pay for so I don't feel so weird...plus, I always need something anyways. If this isn't something you feel comfortable doing - You can always go with cardstock/scrapbook paper. Michael's carries stacks of colored paper within the same color theme.



When cutting, be sure you're cutting off the sample name. Also, look for samples that are large that way you have some room to play with. I always "eyeball" it. I can't give you a specific size because there are so many different sizes of frames. I start by fitting aross the top where the days of the week will be & then down. You will need 7 samples across the top & 7 going down. Altogether - 49, but I always grab a few extra - just in case.


Once you've found the size you're going with, it's pretty easy to go from there. No need to get any fancy cutting tools. Just a pair of sharp scissors, & lining them all up with the correctly sized sample. One snip & on to the next.


I use masking tape on the back of each sample. I use the back of the painting, or sometimes there's an awesome thick white paper (cardstock) behind the painting.


I painted this one light blue (Rustoleum's Chalked in Serenity Blue) & put the painting against it - taped it with masking tape then started laying down the samples on the blank side, again - with masking tape. I use this type of tape because it's easiest to lift without ripping the paper if I lay something down in the wrong spot.


I have used the following on the glass:

  • Chalk Markers

  • Dry Erase Markers

  • Permanent Markers

All come off with rubbing alcohol.

In the past, I have use a corner cutter & rounded the edges. You are free to be as creative as you like. I would love to see what you come up with. If you decide to make your own, be sure to tag TheDustyPines on Instagram.

And just for my fellow penny pinchin' folks:

Frame: $4

Paint Samples: Free!

Paint: Already had.

Wax: Already had!

Tape: Already had!

Total: $4




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page