top of page

DIY Chalk Paint Recipe





I have been restoring furniture & working with milk & chalk paints for about five years now. It has been so much fun learning the craft & techniques. I'll bet your wondering how I started...


It all began when a girl friend of mine was moving out of her family home but didn't want to move her bedroom set. This included a tall boy dresser, a long dresser with a large mirror, & a nightstand. They were a cream colored french provincial style with gold accents & wood tops. The tops needed to be re-sanded & stained - something I had no clue how to do. (I ended up teaching myself years later.)

I was pregnant with my son at the time & his dad & I traveled almost an hour away to fetch it in the dark. I remember hauling these big pieces of furniture from the empty house to the bed of his truck. This mama was tired! I also remember feeling like I had hit the jackpot though. At that time, I had never restored any kind of furniture but I knew I was going to begin here without a clue where to really start. It was exciting for me.


When I decide to take on a foreign task, I research every detail. By the time I was done, I felt like an expert. I had learned that I wanted to work with Miss Mustard Seed's Milk Paint mainly because it was safe to use while pregnant & I didn't have to mess with a sander.


I learned there was a small shop about 45 minutes from my house & I decided to make the trip over.


The shop is no longer there but it was called Bungalow 47 (They now sell their own paint here! ) & it was located in a small downtown area. The moment I walked through the old heavy shop door, I knew I wanted to own something like that one day. It smelled of candles & it had a rustic chic feel. There were pieces of furniture placed perfectly around the shop & all were painted with all sorts of funky colors. The best part? They were all for sale!


I immediately spotted the tall shelves along the wall full of paint. They had chalk paint on one side, bags of milk paint on the other, & further to the right - gel stains.


The shop owner was so kind & helpful. We chatted about the project I was taking on & she set me up with the best route...A bag of a funky blue colored milk paint, a bonding agent, & a paint brush.



Years later, I decided I despised the funky blue I had painted the set with & repainted it white - my homemade chalk paint recipe that I'm going to share with you. And the tops? Dark walnut. I can't tell you how much I love them. During these past couple of years & several trips to that shop, I have found that I do love the sheer convenience of chalk paint. I'll explain the difference...




Milk paint comes in a powder form - typically in a fancy zip lock bag & while I love to work with it, it does requires more preparation than your average latex or chalk paints. It's a "just add water" recipe but it takes some patience & a bit of practice to get the consistency just right. In addition, I actually add a bonding agent with the water so my projects don't chip. I like to be in control of the "roughing up" of my projects. Without the bonding agent, the paint can chip on it's own. What I do love is that no real prep of the wood needs to be completed. I clean my surface & go at it. No sanding is required which saves a lot of time!


Much like milk paint, chalk paint doesn't require sanding or wood prep either. What I like more about it though is that it comes in a can & ready to go. No powder. No water. The consistency is just like latex paint. It's so easy to work with.




"So why don't you just buy it? Why would you make your own?" Great questions! Let me explain...


While I love being able to visit these fun shops & check out all the colors, I have realized they come with a higher price tag than your average latex paint. And as an avid crafter/restorer with a tight budget, I needed to figure out how to continue doing what I love for less.


After a bit of research on how exactly Plaster of Paris works...I decided to go that route.


Because it hardens when it dries, I figured adding it to the paint would also help protect any furniture it is used on. It is also a powder like consistency in it's dry state. Perfect chalky finish.


Don't get me wrong...If I come across a color that I can't live without - I'll bite the bullet & pick it up. I do have quite a colorful collection. If I can save on a color I use all the time though - like white, this is perfect!




Wanna give it a whirl?


It's just t h r e e ingredients.


1. Water (Room Temperature from tap) - 1/4 cup or 1/3 cup depending on how chalky you want it.

*Note - Water & Plaster of Paris amounts should match.*


2. Plaster of Paris - 1/4 cup or 1/3 cup again...depending on how chalky you want it.

*I buy mine at Menards for around $16. I have also found it at Michael's, Jo-Ann's, Hobby Lobby, & Home Depot.*


*Mix Water & Plaster of Paris first*


3. Latex Paint - 1 Cup

*Pour latex paint in your mixture & you're finished!*

*Tip: Try to find clearance paints. These are paints that people will return to the store if they had too much for their own project. I spent $15 on a gallon of white!

A couple of things to consider...


Plaster of Paris is fast drying. It can harden within 20-30 minutes so small batches is ideal. I was able to get in 1 coat on my entire bedroom set & ended up doing 3 total.


Also - Because Plaster of Paris dries so quickly, keep a whisk near to give it a stir while you work. This will buy you some time.


And last - Making small batches is key, plus you won't have much left over however...if there are leftovers - do N O T toss it down your sink. You will have major plumbing issues. The best way to take care of your left over paint is to pour it into a zip lock bag & let it harden over night. By morning it should be in a solid state & you'll be able to toss it in the trash.


If you'd like to see my video for this, you can find it here.

Remember to tag @thedustypines on Instagram if you choose to use this recipe! I'd love to see your work!


Until next time....


...with love, Lindsey.

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page